Emergency Management Agency

Our Mission

The primary mission of the Emergency Management Agency (EMA) is to save lives and protect property in the event of a man-made or natural disaster. The secondary mission of the EMA is to restore public services and to expedite the recovery and rehabilitation of individuals in the event of large-scale disasters. These objectives are met by conducting coordinated operations throughout the four phases of Emergency Management: mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.


The process of eliminating or reducing the probability of occurrence of an emergency or disaster. Mitigation activities should be considered long before an emergency occurs.


The planning stage which insures the most effective, efficient response, efforts to minimize damages and lay the groundwork for response operations. Preparedness is an insurance policy against emergencies.


Provides emergency assistance for casualties, reduces the probability or extent of secondary damage and other measures that will enhance future recovery operations. Response is the first phase that occurs after the onset of a disaster.


The process of returning all systems, both formal and informal, to normal. Recovery activities continue beyond the emergency period immediately following the disaster and can be broken down into short-term and long-term activities.

Our Staff

The Ottawa County Emergency Management Agency’s staff consists of three full-time employees: 

  • Director, Fred Petersen
  • Deputy Director, Mike Drusbacky
  • Administrative Assistant, Beth Greer

The EMA offices also host a State Resident Radiological Analyst and a Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station Utility Liaison.

  • Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, David Dewitz
  • Ohio EMA, John Woycitzky