Recorder’s Office

Ottawa County Overview

Ottawa County is a long narrow county in northern Ohio. Per the 2010 Census, Ottawa County has a population of 41,428 residents.

The eastern end of the county is bordered on the north by the wonderful waters of Lake Erie's western basin. The Portage River and Sandusky Bay provide more recreational waters, making this area very favorable for tourism and sports fishing.

The central and western portions of the county have thriving agricultural base. There villages dot the rural landscape.

Port Clinton

Port Clinton, the only city, is the county seat. The city and the incorporated villages are each governed by a mayor and council.


Ottawa County has twelve townships, each governed by a board of three trustees and served by a fiscal officer. The governing officials of all of these political subdivisions are elected by the voters of the county.

County Officials

Most officials at the county-wide level are elected in the same years that U.S. Presidents are elected.