Our Staff

The Ottawa County Emergency Management Agency’s staff consists of three full-time employees: Director, Deputy Director and Administrative Assistant. The EMA offices also host a State Resident Radiological Analyst and a Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station Utility Liaison.

Fred Petersen:
Fred has been with the Ottawa County Emergency Management Agency since October of 1994.  He was appointed Director in January of 2010.  He is responsible for the administration and direction of the agency and the planning and development of the overall program.  Additionally, his responsibilities include planning for and responding to hazardous materials emergencies, overseeing the public safety radio system and other miscellaneous assignments.  Fred chairs the Ottawa County Local Emergency Planning Committee,  the County Homeland Security Advisory Board and the County Safety Committee.  In addition, he serves on the Safety Council of Northwest Ohio, the Ottawa County 9-1-1 Advisory Board, the Materion Community Advisory Panel, and the Western Lake Erie Area Contingency Planning Committee.  He is also affiliated with the Ottawa County Fire and EMS Chiefs Association, Ottawa County Township Association and the Emergency Management Association of Ohio.

Fred is a lifelong resident of Ottawa County, residing in Oak Harbor with his wife and five children. He is a graduate of the University of Findlay, with a Bachelor of Science in Environmental and Hazardous Materials Management.

Mike Drusbacky:
Mike has over 25 years experience in the emergency management field. In cooperation with the Ohio Emergency Management Agency and Davis-Besse personnel, he develops, evaluates, modifies, coordinates and conducts training activities in support of the Ottawa County Radiological Emergency Response Plan and Suggested Operating Guidelines. He also assists in the development, evaluation and modification of the plan and SOGs, and assists in the development of scenarios for drills/exercises.

Mike participates in public information/education activities, serves as a Public Information Officer and provides assistance during natural and technological emergencies, drills and exercises. His duties as Public Information Officer include preparing and disseminating press releases, participating in media briefings and rumor control.

Mike is a graduate of the University of Toledo, with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Communications. His post- graduate studies have included course work at the Emergency Management Institute and Harvard School of Public Health.

Beth Greer:
Beth has been the administrative assistant with Ottawa County EMA since April of 2004. Beth has over 20 years of experience in office administration. Her responsibilities include: tracking grant expenditures, maintaining the Radiological Emergency Response Plan and Suggested Operating Guidelines for the agency, processing cost recovery billings, purchase orders, pay-ins, vouchers and responding to officials, general public or media inquiries. She serves as Emergency Operations Center (EOC) Coordinator when the facility is activated, assists with public information and is also the recording secretary for the Local Emergency Planning Committee and the Ottawa County Homeland Security Advisory Team.

John Flegal:
John works for the Ohio Emergency Management Agency as the Resident Radiological Analyst assigned to Northwest Ohio.  He works out of the Ottawa County EMA offices and is primarily responsible for assisting the local counties with their radiological emergency planning efforts.  This may include training, procedure development and equipment needs.  During an emergency in Ottawa County, John oversees the assessment area of the county Emergency Operations Center (EOC) and advises the county’s executive group in matters related to protective actions for the public and emergency workers.

John Flegal grew up traveling the world as an Air Force brat.  After his father’s retirement, John spent the rest of his youth growing up in Akron, Ohio.  John entered in the Army National Guard in the army infantry, and then attended college at the University of Akron where he earned his four year degree in Homeland Security and Emergency Management.  After graduating from Akron University, he then accepted a commission with a Chemical Company as a CBRNE Officer and a Hazardous Materials Instructor and began his EMA path as the Regional Preparedness Specialist for the American Red Cross at their headquarters in Cleveland, Ohio.

David Dewitz:
David has been an employee with the First Energy Corporation for over 16 years.  He is a Senior Nuclear Specialist in the Emergency Response section at Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station and services as liaison between the Utility and County in matters relating to Davis-Besse.

David supports the 800 MHz radio system and associated support equipment, he coordinates the operation and maintenance of the system. In addition David is the Liaison to the Erie County Emergency Management Agency in Sandusky, the Sandusky County Emergency Management Agency in Fremont, the Lucas County Emergency Management Agency in Toledo, and the Ohio Emergency Management Agency in Columbus.