Regional Planning Commission

Telephone: 419-734-6780
Fax: 419-734-6898
Email: [email protected]

Office Hours:
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Ottawa County Courthouse
315 Madison St., Rm. 107
Port Clinton, OH 43452

Director – Mark Messa
Administrative Assistant – Stacey VanEerten

The Commission operates under Ohio Revised Code Chapter 713. Commission membership includes representatives from the county government and other government agencies, county municipalities and townships, as well as county citizens. The Commission meets on the third Tuesday of the month at 7:00 P.M. in the Emergency Operations Center, located in the basement of the Ottawa County Courthouse.

The Commission’s primary duty is to regulate the subdivision of land in the unincorporated areas of Ottawa County. The Commission staff may assist you with questions regarding subdividing land. We may also assist you with questions about zoning and floodplain issues in Ottawa County.

We also administer some grants awarded to the county. For example, we administer the Community Development Block Grant and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency assessment grants. We may assist you with questions regarding these grants. Periodically, we may post public notices on the county webpage, which pertain to these grants.

The Regional Planning Director also serves as the County Fair Housing Coordinator.  Fair housing questions or complaints can be sent via email at [email protected] or by calling 1-800-788-8803 or TTY 1-800-750-0750.

To learn more about the Commission please see the attached annual report and By-Laws:

2020 Annual Report


Subdivision Regulations

The attached forms are also provided to assist you:

Small Lot – Administrative Approval

Large Lot – Administrative Approval

Preliminary Plat Application and Checklist

Final Plat Application and Checklist

Application for Subdivision Variance

Fee Schedule

For questions directed to local zoning inspectors see the attached directory:

Municipal and Township Zoning Inspectors

Ottawa County Zoning Resolutions:

Allen Township Zoning Resolution

Benton Township Zoning Resolution

Catawba Island Township Zoning Resolution

Clay Township Zoning Resolution

Danbury Township Zoning Resolution

Harris Township Zoning Resolution

Portage Township Zoning Resolution

Put-In-Bay Township Zoning Resolution

Salem Township Zoning Resolution

Ottawa County Zoning Ordinances: Please contact the cities
or villages.

Ottawa County Land Use Plans:

Allen Township Land Use Plan

Bay Township Land Use Plan

Benton Township Land Use Plan

Carroll Township Land Use Plan

Catawba Island Township Land Use Plan

Clay Township Land Use Plan

Danbury Township Land Use Plan

Erie Township Land Use Plan

Harris Township Land Use Plan

Portage Township Land Use Plan

Put-In-Bay Township Land Use Plan

Salem Township Land Use Plan